With a healed clavicle fracture (a plate rod and 8 screws in me) and a month away from flying to India for in-laws 60th celebration along with an offer letter for most awaited post; I received a conformation from doc about my pregnancy.

Doc restricted my air travel because of my 1st pregnancy. So there I was in a city that I barely knew with a husband who had no idea about pregnancy along with a bad weather. So I asked Vishal (my husband) would I be allowed to fly after 1st 3 months ? Yes: was his and doc’s answer. So basically this ruled out the option of getting mom, mother-in-law or nanny to Ipswich. The visa processing would take approximately 2 months, it didn’t solve the purpose. I geared up mentally: I have to take care of myself only for 3 MONTHS. That’s it, and then it’s all over to mom & Mother-in-law.

To prepare ourselves, we ordered the Book, ‘’what to expect when accepting’’, my bible/bagvadgita/Koran during my pregnancy period. Did Google research about what to eat, exercise, meals, mood swings, nausea, and all other related articles, understood and ready with a game plan?
Game plan was:- Vishal would cook every night, I would prepare breakfast and lunch was sorted out to my friend. We stuffed the fridge with fresh fruits, oats bar, green vegetables, flavoured milks, all kinds of nuts and biscuits. Keeping in mind the advice form M&M (Mother & mother-in-law). So in between whenever I was hungry this would suffice. All this preparation was done within 2 days.

The speed with the game plan was made it trembled with that speed, I started to nausea and vomiting right from morning 4 till 4 pm in the evening. I not only had food/fluid vomits but also blood vomits. I vomited everywhere, the car park, Sainsbury, costa, friends bathroom, streets, in the car, you name a place in Ipswich and i had it covered. We did meet our GP and realised that if I missed my food timings I would vomit. So I had to follow a strict food meals time, by nature I am pretty acidic hence the consequences. The blood was from rupture of my throat from excessive vomiting rather than from stomach: which was good news. I hadn’t hurt the baby.

The biggest solace was my mum on skype 24 by 7. I would lay there speaking nothing and she watched me over skype, there have been countless incidence where I fell asleep over her over skype session and woke me up by phone to eat something (keeping in mind the time to prepare it) She shared so many quick healthy recipes which were great to the throat and tummy. Soon it was time for my 1st scan and time to fly to India. Scan was beautiful; all my fears were put to bay after seeing vipra healthy and fine. This was the time to fly like a free bird to India.

Vishal’s project demanded couple of more days: his career was far more important than we being in ipsiwch for one more month. We had managed in the worst; so this was payback time. I soon realised in the 5th month scan the gender of my kid. It was a girl, it had to be. From the time I was pregnant I somehow knew…….Vishal always wanted a girl. So the payback time was for shopping, there are so many cute cuddly things to buy for girls .I had become more mobile and was available to enjoy outside weather, shopping, chatting with friends & family. Days were filled with months and with each passing month I was more eager to be in India. Finally we flew on my 27th week (which is the last cut off week to fly) with Kingfisher airlines. They pampered me with flowers, fresh fruits and constant reminder to walk the aisle for better circulation. In way it was towards preparing me for all the attention I was about to get in India.

Finally with my big tummy and a little girl inside my womb we arrived safely to Mumbai sharapati international Airport.
pregnant-lady

